Writing Wednesday: Roy Stubbs, Assistant Engineer on the Kestrel

Roy Stubbs joined PACT to escape from the poverty in which he grew up on an Earth colony planet. His mechanical skills were put to good use, and he trained as an engineer. He is slim and rough-looking, but he has a good heart. He has been working on the Kestrel with Blackie for two years, and looks on him as a father-figure. Blackie took him under his wing and helped him to learn some of the social graces that he lacked.

He proved himself to be a very useful member of the crew, often helping in little ways unbidden. He was not afraid of hard work, but was nervous of responsibility. His tough upbringing had left him with little self esteem, though he blossomed when praised by Blackie. Blackie was sure that in time, he would make a good career for himself and be a credit to the service.

However, he was tested when the Kestrel was forced to carry six extra passengers, all different alien races. The overcrowding and clash of cultures was a severe trial for him. A trial in a different way was the presence of Tabi Enns the trainee, and the mysterious woman Anna. He was not used to such proximity to women, and his skills in that area were very much lacking.

About Ann Marie Thomas

Married since 1974, Christian since 1986, 4 children, 4 grand children, disabled with fibromyalgia but was working almost full time until a stroke in May 2010 changed my life completely. Writing poetry and making up stories since I was a child, I only started to write seriously when my children were grown. My main ambition is to write science fiction, but along the way I got distracted by local history and poetry about my stroke. Taking early retirement gave me the chance to concentrate on my writing. My book, Alina, The White Lady of Oystermouth, was published in print and ebook at Easter 2012. The success of Alina led to the publication of Broken Reed: The Lords of Gower and King John in September 2013, and The Magna Carta Story at Easter 2015. I am still writing science fiction - a series of novels called Flight of the Kestrel. For all my author news, see me author blog at www.annmariethomas.me.uk
This entry was posted in Flight of the Kestrel, writing, Writing Wednesday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

