Writing Wednesday: Crown of Thorns

Easter is too important an event to miss, so this week’s Scribbling Saturday is a song written by my husband Michael. There’s no recording of him singing it, so you can only have the words. I hope they bless you.

Crown of Thorns

We shrink at every swing of the hammer
We cry with every thrust of the nail
These soldiers know their business of torture
The panic rises, it never fails

The crosses rise and fall with a judder
into the holes filled with blood and rain
Come crashing down, making me shudder
My heart is bursting now with the pain

Crown of thorns, crown of thorns
They made me their King with a crown of thorns

The joker on my left started laughing
Hysteria had a hold on his soul
“If you’re the king get us out of this place
‘Cause, brother, right now we’re in a hole”

While on my right a voice started crying
“You fool, we’re getting what we deserve.
This man’s done nothing, Lord please remember
me in your kingdom, I’m ready to serve”

Crown of thorns, crown of thorns
They made me their King with a crown of thorns

The men drew lots to see who’d inherit
my worldly goods, though they were so few
If they looked up they’d see  heaven waiting
but they looked down to the dice they threw

At noonday midnight fell like a judgement
Heaven’s thunder roared, and punishment fell
“My God, my God, why did you forsake me
and leave me here in this living hell!”

Crown of thorns, crown of thorns
They made me their King with a crown of thorns

It wasn’t Romans put me on this tree
It wasn’t priests condemned me to death
It wasn’t nails that held me here bleeding
For love of you I gave my last breath

Crown of thorns, crown of thorns
You made me your King with a crown of thorns

 

About Ann Marie Thomas

Married since 1974, Christian since 1986, 4 children, 4 grand children, disabled with fibromyalgia but was working almost full time until a stroke in May 2010 changed my life completely. Writing poetry and making up stories since I was a child, I only started to write seriously when my children were grown. My main ambition is to write science fiction, but along the way I got distracted by local history and poetry about my stroke. Taking early retirement gave me the chance to concentrate on my writing. My book, Alina, The White Lady of Oystermouth, was published in print and ebook at Easter 2012. The success of Alina led to the publication of Broken Reed: The Lords of Gower and King John in September 2013, and The Magna Carta Story at Easter 2015. I am still writing science fiction - a series of novels called Flight of the Kestrel. For all my author news, see me author blog at www.annmariethomas.me.uk
This entry was posted in Writing Wednesday and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Writing Wednesday: Crown of Thorns

  1. URL says:

    I believe other web site proprietors ought to take this internet website as an example , extremely clean and great user genial style . 331859

    Like

  2. colon cancer says:

    Hi there would you mind sharing which blog platform you’re working with? I’m planning to start my own blog about colon cancer soon but I’m having a hard time selecting between BlogEngine/Wordpress/B2evolution and Drupal. The reason I ask is because your layout seems different then most blogs and I’m looking for something unique. P.S Sorry for getting off-topic but I had to ask!

    Like

    • This blog is on WordPress. I used to blog on Blogger, but I moved it all to WordPress because it looks more like a web site and was more like what I wanted. WordPress is very easy to use, it explains everything and guides you through the process. Good luck with your blog!

      Like

Leave a Reply

