Thinking Thursday: Foundations

Foundations are fundamental. The foundations we lay determine what we can build afterwards. The same applies to our Christian lives. If you lay a foundation in your Christian life which is not Christ, you don’t have reality. You’re going nowhere.

Are you building your Christian life on sentiment, feelings, circumstances, or bedrock? And what is bedrock? It doesn’t mean building on the Bible or the church you go to.

Matthew 16:13 – 18
When Jesus came to the region of Caesarea Philippi, he asked his disciples,
“Who do people say the Son of Man is?”
They replied, “Some say John the Baptist; others say Elijah; and still others, Jeremiah or one of the prophets.”
“But what about you?” he asked, “Who do you say that I am?”
Simon Peter answered, “You are the Christ, the Son of the living God.”
Jesus replied, “Blessed are you, Simon son of Jonah, for this was not revealed to you by man, but by my Father in heaven. And I tell you that you are Peter, and on this rock I will build my church, and the gates of Hades will not overcome it.”

Peter’s foundation was knowing who Jesus was. He was hit with the spirit of revelation which opened his heart to the truth. Do you know about Jesus with your mind, or your feelings or your sentiment? Or do you really know him in your heart? Understanding is not enough, we need revelation before it really affects us. Without that our faith is just a philosophy, a collection of ideas.

1 Corinthians 3:10-11
By the grace God has given me, I laid a foundation as an expert builder, and someone else is building it. But each one should be careful how he builds. For no-one can lay any foundation other than the one already laid, which is Jesus Christ.

When God brings the spirit of revelation into your life it will turn your life inside out and you will never be the same. It will so grip you that you will have to share it – you cannot contain it. It will be such a sure foundation that then you can build as high as you like.

[Adapted from a sermon by Rob Jones 25/9/88]

About Ann Marie Thomas

Married since 1974, Christian since 1986, 4 children, 4 grand children, disabled with fibromyalgia but was working almost full time until a stroke in May 2010 changed my life completely. Writing poetry and making up stories since I was a child, I only started to write seriously when my children were grown. My main ambition is to write science fiction, but along the way I got distracted by local history and poetry about my stroke. Taking early retirement gave me the chance to concentrate on my writing. My book, Alina, The White Lady of Oystermouth, was published in print and ebook at Easter 2012. The success of Alina led to the publication of Broken Reed: The Lords of Gower and King John in September 2013, and The Magna Carta Story at Easter 2015. I am still writing science fiction - a series of novels called Flight of the Kestrel. For all my author news, see me author blog at www.annmariethomas.me.uk
This entry was posted in faith, Thinking Thursday and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

