Writing Wednesday: NaNoWriMo

The strange word in the title of this post stands for National Novel Writing Month. It’s in November, and so I’m giving all you writers out there notice that you should be preparing right now.

NaNoWriMo started among some friends in the USA who challenged each other to write a 50,000 word novel in a month. The idea caught on and it’s now international and runs online. The idea is that you are allowed to make plans, outlines, character studies, and do research beforehand, but no actual writing until 1st November. Then you have to write an average of 1667 words a day, to complete 50,000 words by 31st November.

Access the web site here.

If you think it sounds crazy – it is, but it’s also great fun. In the mad scramble to get the words down you can’t stop to edit or judge what you’re writing. It’s a great way to cure procrastination and revision, and even if you don’t make the target, you end up with thousands of words of a new novel that you didn’t have before.

I’ve done it twice – and failed both times, but produced a huge chunk of novel that I can work on, the first time, and learned a huge lesson the second time, so it was definitely a success. I’ve just come up with an idea for a novel, so the race is on to get it worked up enough to make a novel.

About Ann Marie Thomas

Married since 1974, Christian since 1986, 4 children, 4 grand children, disabled with fibromyalgia but was working almost full time until a stroke in May 2010 changed my life completely. Writing poetry and making up stories since I was a child, I only started to write seriously when my children were grown. My main ambition is to write science fiction, but along the way I got distracted by local history and poetry about my stroke. Taking early retirement gave me the chance to concentrate on my writing. My book, Alina, The White Lady of Oystermouth, was published in print and ebook at Easter 2012. The success of Alina led to the publication of Broken Reed: The Lords of Gower and King John in September 2013, and The Magna Carta Story at Easter 2015. I am still writing science fiction - a series of novels called Flight of the Kestrel. For all my author news, see me author blog at www.annmariethomas.me.uk
This entry was posted in writing, Writing Wednesday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Writing Wednesday: NaNoWriMo

  1. Pingback: Writing Wednesday: Expanding an Outline | Ann Marie Thomas, Author: Thinking Out Loud

  2. Pingback: Writing Wednesday: To Make A Short Story Long | Ann Marie Thomas, Author: Thinking Out Loud

Leave a Reply

