Thinking Thursday: Why New Year’s Resolutions Don’t Work

Have you ever wondered why it’s so hard to keep your New Year’s resolutions? Have you given up making them? Yet the new year is a new beginning and calls us to make a fresh start, a renewed effort, to make things better.

But we go off in flights of fancy about what we would like to happen, how we wish things would be. As the old saying goes, ‘If wishes were horses, beggars would ride.’ To make a real difference, resolutions have to be smart.

That’s S.M.A.R.T. – Specific, Measurable, Achievable, Realistic and Timely.

Specific: Make detailed resolutions. Not ‘I want to be thinner’, or ‘I want to write a book’. What exactly are you going to do?

Measurable: How will you know you’re making progress?

Achievable: Better to aim for small steps so you can be encouraged in your progress, than something huge where you might get discouraged.

Realistic: Be realistic in what you want to achieve. We can all dream, but what could you achieve with the right time and effort?

Timely: How long is it going to take you? How often will you measure your progress?

If you want some examples, see my writing goals in yesterday’s post. So take heart, maybe this year is the one where you actually keep your resolutions! Why not share them with me in the comments, and we can encourage each other?

About Ann Marie Thomas

Married since 1974, Christian since 1986, 4 children, 4 grand children, disabled with fibromyalgia but was working almost full time until a stroke in May 2010 changed my life completely. Writing poetry and making up stories since I was a child, I only started to write seriously when my children were grown. My main ambition is to write science fiction, but along the way I got distracted by local history and poetry about my stroke. Taking early retirement gave me the chance to concentrate on my writing. My book, Alina, The White Lady of Oystermouth, was published in print and ebook at Easter 2012. The success of Alina led to the publication of Broken Reed: The Lords of Gower and King John in September 2013, and The Magna Carta Story at Easter 2015. I am still writing science fiction - a series of novels called Flight of the Kestrel. For all my author news, see me author blog at www.annmariethomas.me.uk
This entry was posted in faith, Thinking Thursday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

