Thinking Thursday: Worry

This week I’m offering some Bible verses on worry. I thought worry was a good subject to deal with at the start of the year.

I have observed a ‘Catch 22’ situation involving worry:
if we really understood where we are in Christ we would not need to worry
worry obstructs us from coming to a full understanding of where we are in Christ 

Worry falls into two categories:
earthly: e.g. finances, job, home, family etc
heavenly: our relationship to God, e.g. condemnation is worry that we have let God down or that he now thinks less of us 

Scripture is full of admonitions not to worry, but when people quote them at us they are often no use because we see no way out. They can even make us feel even more condemned because that’s another word we are not obeying. We need positive, practical advice about why and how not to worry. 

Faith/praise is not dependent on circumstances
Habakkuk 3:17-18 praise God despite trials – an act of will
Daniel 3:17-18 Shadrach, Meshach and Abednego will serve God even if he doesn’t save them
Philippians 4:11-12 Paul says “I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation”
Psalm 42:11 “I will yet praise him” 

Purpose of trials
John 15:1-2 the fruitful are pruned
Hebrews 12:4-11 discipline – God treats you as sons. For our good – harvest of righteousness and peace
2 Corinthians 12:9-10 God says, “my power made perfect in weakness.” Paul says, “ When I am weak, then I am strong.” God plus us is enough
James 1:2-4, 12 joy in trials – makes you mature and complete, you will receive the crown of life from God
1 Peter 1:6-7 trials to prove your faith and result in praise, glory and honour. See the end result, not the problem 

Look to God
Matthew 11:28-30 Jesus says, “come to me… my yoke is easy and my burden is light.”
2 Chronicles 20:9, 12 “You will hear us and save us… We do not know what to do, but our eyes are on you.”
Psalms 27:1-6 “my heart will not fear… for in the day of trouble he will keep me safe…”
Hebrews 2:18; 4:14-16 Jesus was tempted so is able to help us and sympathise with our weakness. We can approach with confidence to find mercy and help
1 John 4:16-18 fear equals punishment. We can have confidence on the day of judgement. Perfect love casts out fear 

God’s promises
Philippians 4:7 peace of God will guard your heart and mind
Matthew 6:31-33 all these things will be given you as well
Isaiah 40:28-31 those who hope in the Lord will renew their strength
Isaiah 43:1b-3a fear not, I will be with you, through waters or fire
Psalms 23:3b-4 path of righteousness even in the valley of death
1 Corinthians 10:13 provide a way out of temptation 

Persevere
Psalms 37:7-9 wait patiently for the Lord
Isaiah 50:7-8 I have set my face like flint
Psalms 126:5-6 sow in tears, reap in joy
Psalm 30:4, 5 weeping for a night, rejoicing in the morning
2 Corinthians 4:7-9 hard pressed but not crushed, perplexed but not in despair, struck down but not destroyed
Revelation 12:10-11 “They overcame [Satan] by the blood of the Lamb and by the word of their testimony; they did not love their lives so much as to shrink from death.” 

Note
Proverbs 12:25 “An anxious heart weighs a man down, but a kind word cheers him up.”
Philippians 4:6 keys to combating anxiety – prayer, petition, thanksgiving
Luke 4:1, 14 Jesus’ wilderness experience. Desolation or preparation? Lead into the wilderness by the Spirit. Came out of the wilderness in the power of the Spirit.

About Ann Marie Thomas

Married since 1974, Christian since 1986, 4 children, 4 grand children, disabled with fibromyalgia but was working almost full time until a stroke in May 2010 changed my life completely. Writing poetry and making up stories since I was a child, I only started to write seriously when my children were grown. My main ambition is to write science fiction, but along the way I got distracted by local history and poetry about my stroke. Taking early retirement gave me the chance to concentrate on my writing. My book, Alina, The White Lady of Oystermouth, was published in print and ebook at Easter 2012. The success of Alina led to the publication of Broken Reed: The Lords of Gower and King John in September 2013, and The Magna Carta Story at Easter 2015. I am still writing science fiction - a series of novels called Flight of the Kestrel. For all my author news, see me author blog at www.annmariethomas.me.uk
This entry was posted in faith, Thinking Thursday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

