Writing Wednesday: 7 Things I’ve Learned About Being a Writer

Today I want to share with you a really good blog post I discovered on Bestseller Labs. It’s a guest post by Roger Colby, author and English teacher. It’s called 10 Things I’ve Learned About Being a Novelist. Before you go over and read it, I thought I’d list some of the things I’ve learned since I got serious about being a writer.

  1. Write. It’s so easy for life to get busy, and you think you’ll have time later. Write every day, even if only for 5 minutes.
  2. Live. On the other hand, don’t get so immersed in being a writer that you shut yourself away. You need your family and friends. You also need to experience life in order to write about it. You don’t need to experience everything you write about – I don’t think I should murder somebody just to make me a crime writer – but when you’ve lived a little, you know about love, hope, fear, despair, anger, laughter.
  3. Keep track. However you like to organize yourself, you can soon lose track of what you’ve written, what you’ve edited, who you’ve queried or spoken to. However sophisticated you want to be, find a way to keep track.
  4. Make contact. You have potential readers out there, who don’t know you exist. Even before you publish a book, make friends. Get on social media and link up with like-minded people, however you want to do it, and start getting known.
  5. Learn. Every opportunity you get. Learn about writing, publishing, marketing, self-promotion. Some of it eventually sticks if you hear it often enough.
  6. Welcome constructive criticism. Find the right people to show you how to write better. Keep seeking to improve. Belinda Bauer said, “You may never be a great writer, but you can’t get worse.”
  7. Never give up. There will be all sorts of reasons for giving up. If you’re a writer, don’t listen to any of them. Even if no one reads it, if you write, you’re a writer.
About Ann Marie Thomas

Married since 1974, Christian since 1986, 4 children, 4 grand children, disabled with fibromyalgia but was working almost full time until a stroke in May 2010 changed my life completely. Writing poetry and making up stories since I was a child, I only started to write seriously when my children were grown. My main ambition is to write science fiction, but along the way I got distracted by local history and poetry about my stroke. Taking early retirement gave me the chance to concentrate on my writing. My book, Alina, The White Lady of Oystermouth, was published in print and ebook at Easter 2012. The success of Alina led to the publication of Broken Reed: The Lords of Gower and King John in September 2013, and The Magna Carta Story at Easter 2015. I am still writing science fiction - a series of novels called Flight of the Kestrel. For all my author news, see me author blog at www.annmariethomas.me.uk
This entry was posted in writing, Writing Wednesday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Writing Wednesday: 7 Things I’ve Learned About Being a Writer

  1. jeik42 says:

    1 and 6 are perfect! It’s so important to just write and generate content, even sitting for five minutes each day keeps the momentum going.

    Like

  2. Pingback: Writing Wednesday: 2014 Writing Roundup | Ann Marie Thinking Out Loud

Leave a Reply

