Writing Wednesday: Kestrel Synopsis

My Writers Circle is running an internal competition for which I have to write a synopsis of a novel and a cover letter to an agent. So I thought I would kill two birds with one stone and share my synopsis with you.

If you are a regular visitor, you will have heard about my science fiction series Flight of the Kestrel, the first book of which, called Intruders, I have been working on for more years than I care to admit. But I am learning my craft on it, and hope one day it will be fit to publish. So here is my synopsis:

Due to a crew shortage, 18-year-old Tabitha Enns is given work experience on board the Kestrel, part of the fast-response fleet of the Planetary Alliance for Cooperation and Trade (PACT). The fast-response fleet is a diplomatic and emergency service, and Tabitha is excited at the chance to get away from her home planet for the first time.

Her first mission is to a quartz mine where there has been an explosion and a cave in. But the Kestrel’s captain, Joseph Darrow, is also asked to investigate possible sabotage to cover up thefts of the valuable quartz crystals.

His investigation gives Darrow the final evidence he needs to prove that there is an unknown alien race stealing from sites across the galaxy. His superiors in PACT have their hands full with tension on the border, and do not see the urgency. Eventually Admiral Keever is convinced, but due to a crisis elsewhere, no ships are available for a mission to find the Intruders.

The Admiral orders Darrow to take the Kestrel, a small ship with a crew of eleven, and not equipped for such a task. To make it worse, at a briefing with the other Alliance races, they insist that a representative from each race should also go on the mission, putting the crew complement up to seventeen.

Several crew changes are also necessary, so Darrow must undertake the most serious and potentially dangerous mission of his career with an overcrowded ship and untried crew – to look for invisible aliens who may be pillaging the galaxy.

As the representatives arrive, so does a mysterious woman, Anna, who has a head injury and amnesia. As they follow the trail, Anna shows that she can ‘hear’ the thoughts of the Intruders, and is a valuable asset, but where did she come from and who operated on her brain to give her this ability, which terrifies her? The questions add to the tensions between those on board.

The finding of a crippled Intruder ship and offer of assistance gives Darrow the breakthrough he needs, but not before deaths among the crew and the Intruders. When the Intruders’ planet is finally reached, despite a friendly reception, the landing party are taken captive, and it is up to Anna to save the day.

* * *

So what do you think? I’m not sure whether I should give more detail, especially about the ending. Is it more like a long blurb, designed to excite interest? Does it work for you? Let me know in the comments.

About Ann Marie Thomas

Married since 1974, Christian since 1986, 4 children, 4 grand children, disabled with fibromyalgia but was working almost full time until a stroke in May 2010 changed my life completely. Writing poetry and making up stories since I was a child, I only started to write seriously when my children were grown. My main ambition is to write science fiction, but along the way I got distracted by local history and poetry about my stroke. Taking early retirement gave me the chance to concentrate on my writing. My book, Alina, The White Lady of Oystermouth, was published in print and ebook at Easter 2012. The success of Alina led to the publication of Broken Reed: The Lords of Gower and King John in September 2013, and The Magna Carta Story at Easter 2015. I am still writing science fiction - a series of novels called Flight of the Kestrel. For all my author news, see me author blog at www.annmariethomas.me.uk
This entry was posted in Flight of the Kestrel, Writing Wednesday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Writing Wednesday: Kestrel Synopsis

  1. As a reader I was drawn in by this synopsis, but you need to show how Anna saves the day if it’s for an agent or publisher – from what I can gather, they like an overview of the whole plot, including the ending.

    Like

Leave a Reply

