Writing Wednesday: Advice Taken – The Story of This Blog

Advice about blogs can be varied and conflicting. It can be hard to know the best thing to do.

Last December I posted about the advice I needed on my blog. I had previously gone from two blogs to one, on good advice, but now it wasn’t working.

I started this blog Ann Marie Thinking Out Loud in July 2008 as a personal writing tool. I wrote about my faith and my progress in learning to be a writer. When I had a stroke in May 2010, my blog was a vehicle to report my progress.

In July 2009 I became fascinated by a story from Gower history, and when that became a book, Alina, The White Lady of Oystermouth, I launched a separate blog Alina The White Lady to promote it. As a self-publisher, I had a steep learning curve to learn how to promote and market my book.

One book I read recommended that an author should make it easy for fans and publishers to find her by having everything in one place. I researched and found lots of advice the same. It made sense, so in January 2012 I amalgamated my two blogs into this blog and renamed it Ann Marie Thomas, Author, Thinking out Loud.

My book sold well locally and I went back to my research and found another fascinating story. Broken Reed: The Lords of Gower and King John came out in September 2013 and a new round of promotion began. I set up a mailing list so that people could follow me directly rather than through WordPress, and offered a free information booklet on Life in a Medieval Castle. No one signed up.

This led me to look into my WordPress followers and I discovered that nearly all of them connect because of my faith. I wondered whether I was trying to cover too diverse a spread of topics in one blog.

In response to my plea for advice I was given the chance to receive advice from Firepole Marketing, who I have been following for some time. They made me see the necessity of asking myself what am I trying to achieve with my blog – what is it for?

So yesterday I launched my author blog Ann Marie Thomas, Author, with the subtitle Come and discover some stunning scenery and fascinating history in Swansea and Gower, past and present. I purchased my own domain name too, so you’ll find it at annmariethomas.me.uk. There’s lots more work to do on it, but it’s launched. I imported all my history posts from here and will be talking about my books and related stuff.

Don’t worry about this blog. It’s going to be the same old me on Writing Wednesdays and Thinking Thursdays, except I won’t be dumping history on you any more. The archives will be thinner now the old history posts have gone, and my book pages now point to my new blog, but otherwise it’s business as usual.

I hope you’ll stay. And I hope you’ll visit my new blog too. You will always be welcome at both.

 

About Ann Marie Thomas

Married since 1974, Christian since 1986, 4 children, 4 grand children, disabled with fibromyalgia but was working almost full time until a stroke in May 2010 changed my life completely. Writing poetry and making up stories since I was a child, I only started to write seriously when my children were grown. My main ambition is to write science fiction, but along the way I got distracted by local history and poetry about my stroke. Taking early retirement gave me the chance to concentrate on my writing. My book, Alina, The White Lady of Oystermouth, was published in print and ebook at Easter 2012. The success of Alina led to the publication of Broken Reed: The Lords of Gower and King John in September 2013, and The Magna Carta Story at Easter 2015. I am still writing science fiction - a series of novels called Flight of the Kestrel. For all my author news, see me author blog at www.annmariethomas.me.uk
This entry was posted in miscellaneous, Writing Wednesday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

