Thinking Thursday: Unexpected Answer to Prayer

They say to be careful what you pray for.

 

Praying Hands - Albrecht Durer (Wikimedia)

Praying Hands – Albrecht Durer
(Wikimedia)

I prayed for more time to write, because I was so busy and stressed at work. I had a stroke and had all the time in the world to write. Not quite what I expected! This time, it was much less dramatic.

For some time I have been struggling with prayer. I’ve been a Christian for over 27 years, and consider myself quite mature, but became like a beginner again when it came to prayer. I always felt I wasn’t doing it right.

So I switched to praying about prayer. I asked God to help me, not only with the content, but also with the frequency. It’s so easy to find reasons to put it off, when you’re feeling uncomfortable about it.

On 12th May they announced in church a Call2Pray for 40 days. The Pastor asked the church to commit to praying for 3 things for the church and 3 things for ourselves. Fast as well, if we could. We were all given a leaflet with the 3 points for prayer for the church, and I chose the 3 personal things I would pray for.

It didn’t occur to me at the time, but this was impossible to do wrong. I committed to doing what we were asked to do, and didn’t worry about how. I just prayed every morning what was on the list. I even fasted for the first few days, until it made me ill because of my medication – but I tried.

Now 10 days later, I have prayed every day, and don’t feel bad about praying. My prayer about prayer was answered by moving the whole church to pray! Wow!

About Ann Marie Thomas

Married since 1974, Christian since 1986, 4 children, 4 grand children, disabled with fibromyalgia but was working almost full time until a stroke in May 2010 changed my life completely. Writing poetry and making up stories since I was a child, I only started to write seriously when my children were grown. My main ambition is to write science fiction, but along the way I got distracted by local history and poetry about my stroke. Taking early retirement gave me the chance to concentrate on my writing. My book, Alina, The White Lady of Oystermouth, was published in print and ebook at Easter 2012. The success of Alina led to the publication of Broken Reed: The Lords of Gower and King John in September 2013, and The Magna Carta Story at Easter 2015. I am still writing science fiction - a series of novels called Flight of the Kestrel. For all my author news, see me author blog at www.annmariethomas.me.uk
This entry was posted in faith, Thinking Thursday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

