Writing Wednesday: Dinefwr Literature Festival

I spent last weekend at the Dinefwr Literature Festival near Llandeilo, Carmarthenshire with my husband, and we really enjoyed it. Of course, it helped that the weather was marvelous.

Newton HousseThis was only the second time the festival has been held – the first was two years ago. The report of friends who came last time made me want to attend this time. I don’t know if it will be two years before the next one, but I will definitely go again.

It was not a huge festival – I overheard one of the security staff on the gate say that they had counted 2,600 people going in on Saturday, but some of those had come out to their cars or tents and gone in again, and he didn’t have the exit figure. It was busy, but not packed, and we didn’t encounter any queues, except short ones for the excellent food. There was a good choice of food stalls, from lobster through vegetarian to pasties and burgers – but very good ones.

Michael big topThere were always lots of staff members around to answer questions and sort things out, and they were very helpful. Events were held in Newton House, two big tops, open air in the courtyard, and at Dinefwr Castle ruins.

The festival encompassed a lot more than just literature, with music, comedy, cinema, and activities for children. My husband is not a fiction writer but found plenty of interest, although he did actually attend a writing workshop and enjoyed it. I attended two workshops: one by the Open University on showing and telling, and a taster from Ty Newydd on a sense of place in poetry. They were both good, and I had a chance to ask some questions about the courses they offer.

Letters of Note

Shaun Usher presenting his new book Letters of Note

On the literature side, there were poets, novelists, short story writers and screenwriters from the UK and abroad, including Gillian Clarke the National Poet of Wales and Wales Book of the Year winners Owen Sheers and Rhian Edwards. Shaun Usher presented his hugely popular book Letters of Note, which started as a website and was crowd-funded and published by Unbound, which I will talk about in a separate post as it’s such a good idea.

I came home tired and sunburned but very happy. Added to the enjoyment of the festival were the beautiful views across Dinefwr Park, with the deer and the white cattle, and the oak woods in the distance.

About Ann Marie Thomas

Married since 1974, Christian since 1986, 4 children, 4 grand children, disabled with fibromyalgia but was working almost full time until a stroke in May 2010 changed my life completely. Writing poetry and making up stories since I was a child, I only started to write seriously when my children were grown. My main ambition is to write science fiction, but along the way I got distracted by local history and poetry about my stroke. Taking early retirement gave me the chance to concentrate on my writing. My book, Alina, The White Lady of Oystermouth, was published in print and ebook at Easter 2012. The success of Alina led to the publication of Broken Reed: The Lords of Gower and King John in September 2013, and The Magna Carta Story at Easter 2015. I am still writing science fiction - a series of novels called Flight of the Kestrel. For all my author news, see me author blog at www.annmariethomas.me.uk
This entry was posted in writing, Writing Wednesday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Writing Wednesday: Dinefwr Literature Festival

  1. suesj says:

    That looks fab, I’m sorry I missed it! I hope they do it again next year!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Dinefwr Literature Festival | Bits and Pieces

  3. Pingback: Writing Wednesday: Unbound – Crowdfunding Books | Ann Marie Thinking Out Loud

  4. Pingback: Writing Wednesday: Dinefwr Literature Festival: Description Exercise | Ann Marie Thinking Out Loud

Leave a Reply

