Thinking Thursday: Gardens by Joy Morgan Davis

From the book Could You Hurry Up The Dawn, Lord?

Peace,
in the Garden of Eden,

was the natural order
of things …
The sun was soft,
the air was like elixir,
the lion and the lamb
lay down together,
there was no need to
be brave
for there was no danger,
death, disease …
Peace was a natural part
of Paradise.

But in Gethsemane
one long, lonely night
Peace was born
only after awful anguish …
Only after blood and sweat
and tears of the petition
and finally of the
soul-surrender
was there Peace of mind and emotion …
No matter the test,
no matter the danger,
whatever the burden to bear,
Peace would be
undaunted.

I’ve known both Gardens
in my time…

I’ve walked the easy paths
of Eden
and struggled through
the thorny ways of
God’s Gethsemane where
one lonely night
I reached the final soul-surrender
Not my will, but Thine be done” …
And in that moment

His immortal Peace
was mine!

The road returns from
time to time
to Eden
and Gethsemane.
I’ve learned to welcome
both.

One is my delight …
The other my
deliverance.

 

About Ann Marie Thomas

Married since 1974, Christian since 1986, 4 children, 4 grand children, disabled with fibromyalgia but was working almost full time until a stroke in May 2010 changed my life completely. Writing poetry and making up stories since I was a child, I only started to write seriously when my children were grown. My main ambition is to write science fiction, but along the way I got distracted by local history and poetry about my stroke. Taking early retirement gave me the chance to concentrate on my writing. My book, Alina, The White Lady of Oystermouth, was published in print and ebook at Easter 2012. The success of Alina led to the publication of Broken Reed: The Lords of Gower and King John in September 2013, and The Magna Carta Story at Easter 2015. I am still writing science fiction - a series of novels called Flight of the Kestrel. For all my author news, see me author blog at www.annmariethomas.me.uk
This entry was posted in faith, Thinking Thursday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

