Writing Wednesday: Review of Writer’s Doubt

Writer’s Doubt: How You Can Overcome Doubt and Create Work That Matters

by Bryan Hutchinson

Writers Doubt

Blurb

Doubt doesn’t have to define your writing future.
Do you have what it takes to write a book? Can you be an author even if you don’t think you’re a great writer?
In this part-memoir, part kick-in-the-pants, Bryan Hutchinson will show you how to live out your passion, write a book, and become an author, no matter if the so-called “experts” tell you that you can’t.

Bryan was told by teachers he would never be a writer. As a child, he had to take a remedial reading and writing class because he could barely write a full sentence. One editor told him his book would never be published.

And yet Bryan is now a bestselling author whose books have been read by over 100,000 people and the book the editor said would never be published has been praised publicly by the foremost experts in the field.

All writers doubt their ability. But Bryan’s story shows doubt doesn’t have to define your writing future.

Quotes from Writer’s Doubt

“To be a good writer, an honest writer, and a writer who actually writes, it’s important to reevaluate one’s inhibitions. If writing about certain situations disturbs you or makes you cringe, then by all means write about them.”

“Understandably, they didn’t really appreciate that I shared all of my negative childhood experiences with the world. Families, in general, tend to believe certain things should remain private. However, that’s the thing about a life filled with extreme difficulties-if we keep our stories, our feelings and our experiences hidden inside of us, it is much more difficult to heal and find answers.”

My Review 5*
Recommended.

About Ann Marie Thomas

Married since 1974, Christian since 1986, 4 children, 4 grand children, disabled with fibromyalgia but was working almost full time until a stroke in May 2010 changed my life completely. Writing poetry and making up stories since I was a child, I only started to write seriously when my children were grown. My main ambition is to write science fiction, but along the way I got distracted by local history and poetry about my stroke. Taking early retirement gave me the chance to concentrate on my writing. My book, Alina, The White Lady of Oystermouth, was published in print and ebook at Easter 2012. The success of Alina led to the publication of Broken Reed: The Lords of Gower and King John in September 2013, and The Magna Carta Story at Easter 2015. I am still writing science fiction - a series of novels called Flight of the Kestrel. For all my author news, see me author blog at www.annmariethomas.me.uk
This entry was posted in writing, Writing Wednesday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Writing Wednesday: Review of Writer’s Doubt

  1. Pingback: Writing Wednesday: 2015 Writing Roundup | Ann Marie Thinking Out Loud

Leave a Reply

