Writing Wednesday: My Stroke of Inspiration

My Stroke of Inspiration cover_thumb

In May 2010 I had a stroke at my desk in work. It came out of the blue and turned my life upside down. It left my body paralysed down the right side, but luckily didn’t affect my mind. I was in hospital for seven and a half weeks, and sleeping downstairs in the living room until August, when I could finally climb the stairs. There’s a page here about my recovery.

The hours are long in hospital, especially as I suffered pain and muscle spasms which made it difficult to sleep, so I started writing poetry, laboriously, one letter at a time, on my mobile phone. To take more time, I punctuated it too! I had written poetry since I was a child, but only occasionally. Now, it poured out of me, 22 poems in all. I wrote verse, doggerel, and blank verse, whatever suited the topic.

I wrote about my stroke, my treatment, my faith, and totally random things like the rain outside my window. I needed to learn to write left-handed, so I copied them out into a notebook to get the practice and keep them safe. I gave copies to the nurses and the therapists.

The poems talk about suffering and patience, therapy and faith. When I came home, I typed them into my computer and formatted them into a booklet with a commentary, which I had printed. Many people have found them a comfort, an encouragement and an inspiration, so I have finally made them into an ebook.

It’s called My Stroke of Inspiration and it’s available on Amazon UK for £1.99 and Amazon US for $2.99. I hope you will download it and enjoy it, and would be very grateful if you would leave a review.

You will enjoy them if you like simple poetry, but if you are a stroke survivor or know someone who is, these poems will comfort, encourage and inspire you.

And don’t forget, if you sign up to my mailing list you will get four free gifts, one of which is A Poetry Sampler.

About Ann Marie Thomas

Married since 1974, Christian since 1986, 4 children, 4 grand children, disabled with fibromyalgia but was working almost full time until a stroke in May 2010 changed my life completely. Writing poetry and making up stories since I was a child, I only started to write seriously when my children were grown. My main ambition is to write science fiction, but along the way I got distracted by local history and poetry about my stroke. Taking early retirement gave me the chance to concentrate on my writing. My book, Alina, The White Lady of Oystermouth, was published in print and ebook at Easter 2012. The success of Alina led to the publication of Broken Reed: The Lords of Gower and King John in September 2013, and The Magna Carta Story at Easter 2015. I am still writing science fiction - a series of novels called Flight of the Kestrel. For all my author news, see me author blog at www.annmariethomas.me.uk
This entry was posted in Writing Wednesday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

