Writing Wednesday: The Importance of Book Reviews

Over the last few years I have slowly started to get the hang of social media and self-promotion.

Alina Cover (396x612) (72dpi) Web

When I self-published my first book, I was on Facebook to connect with my grownup kids and my friends. Other than that, I didn’t have a clue. Now I have two Facebook Pages, Twitter, Google+, LinkedIn, GoodReads, Shelfari and who knows what else!

Broken Reed (396x612) (72dpi) Web

I’ve just launched my fourth book, and tried out some new things. There are lots more things to try as I market my books. The most important one, I have discovered, is book reviews. On Amazon, all my books have only a handful of reviews between them.

Magna Carta Cover (396x612) (72dpi) Web

If you stumble across a book that might be good, what do you do? Look it up on Amazon, right? You read the blurb, and then you look at the reviews. What they say, and how many there are. My books may be great (well, I think they are), but no one will believe it without reviews.

My Stroke of Inspiration cover

I have sold hundreds of print books locally and people tell me how much they like them, but print readers do not spontaneously log onto the internet and leave reviews. So I am starting a campaign to ask people to review my books. Honest reviews.

I have PDF copies of all my books. I will give a free copy to anyone in return for an honest review on Amazon. Email amt(dot)tetelestai(at)gmail(dot)com with Review Copy in the Subject line and say which book you want:

Alina, The White Lady of Oystermouth

Broken Reed: The Lords of Gower and King John

The Magna Carta Story: The Layman’s Guide to the Great Charter

My Stroke of Inspiration

It’s not a big commitment: The three history books are each about 10,000 words, and the last book is 22 poems. Thank you in advance.

My science fiction novel, Intruders, will need beta readers soon, and I will be asking them to review the book as well, so I have some reviews as soon as it’s published. But you will have the opportunity of a free PDF copy too, if you’d like to review it when the time comes.

About Ann Marie Thomas

Married since 1974, Christian since 1986, 4 children, 4 grand children, disabled with fibromyalgia but was working almost full time until a stroke in May 2010 changed my life completely. Writing poetry and making up stories since I was a child, I only started to write seriously when my children were grown. My main ambition is to write science fiction, but along the way I got distracted by local history and poetry about my stroke. Taking early retirement gave me the chance to concentrate on my writing. My book, Alina, The White Lady of Oystermouth, was published in print and ebook at Easter 2012. The success of Alina led to the publication of Broken Reed: The Lords of Gower and King John in September 2013, and The Magna Carta Story at Easter 2015. I am still writing science fiction - a series of novels called Flight of the Kestrel. For all my author news, see me author blog at www.annmariethomas.me.uk
This entry was posted in de Breos / de Braose, Writing Wednesday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Writing Wednesday: The Importance of Book Reviews

  1. Pingback: Writing Wednesday: 2015 Writing Roundup | Ann Marie Thinking Out Loud

  2. Pingback: Writing Wednesday: After Writing | Ann Marie Thinking Out Loud

Leave a Reply

