Thinking Thursday: A Proclamational People

Christians are a proclamational people.

Man loud

When Jesus asked, “Who do you say I am?” Peter answered, “The Christ of God.”  (Luke 9:20) He had seen the truth and he had to speak it.

If you are a Christian, you are committed to Jesus. Committed to serve him but also to proclaim him. You have seen the truth, and you need to proclaim it. This doesn’t mean shouting on street corners. A quiet word in an appropriate moment is good too.

We should proclaim by our words but also by our lifestyle. There is an old saying: I cannot hear what you say because what you are speaks too loudly in my ears. Is your lifestyle different enough for people to notice? Peter said, ‘Always be prepared to give an answer to those who ask you the reason for the hope that you have. ‘ (1 Peter 3:15) But do people ask you? Is your life a proclamational life?

Church doors are open during services because we are a public confessing people. We do things in church that cause people to reconsider their attitudes. For example, Jesus was counter cultural about children. He brought them forward and blessed them at a time when they were kept out of sight and considered unimportant. How counter-cultural is your church?

Although we are not sinless we should sin less. While I’m not what I should be, I’m certainly not what I was. (Tony Campolo)

We should take Jesus’ commands more seriously.

We do Christian things on Sunday, but what does our Monday morning say about our relationship with Jesus?  What needs to change to be more reflective of who Jesus is? Radical change is hard, but you could make a one per cent shift.

A man in our church said that on Monday morning people always ask: What did you do at the weekend? He used to say: I watched the rugby, or, I went to the beach. Now he says: I went to church. The next stage will be to talk about something that happened in church. It’s just a small change, but they accumulate over time.

What small changes can you make to be more representative of Jesus? How can you make a one per cent shift towards being a proclamational Christian?

About Ann Marie Thomas

Married since 1974, Christian since 1986, 4 children, 4 grand children, disabled with fibromyalgia but was working almost full time until a stroke in May 2010 changed my life completely. Writing poetry and making up stories since I was a child, I only started to write seriously when my children were grown. My main ambition is to write science fiction, but along the way I got distracted by local history and poetry about my stroke. Taking early retirement gave me the chance to concentrate on my writing. My book, Alina, The White Lady of Oystermouth, was published in print and ebook at Easter 2012. The success of Alina led to the publication of Broken Reed: The Lords of Gower and King John in September 2013, and The Magna Carta Story at Easter 2015. I am still writing science fiction - a series of novels called Flight of the Kestrel. For all my author news, see me author blog at www.annmariethomas.me.uk
This entry was posted in faith, Thinking Thursday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

