Writing Wednesday: Writing Layers–Structure

As I learned and grew as a writer, I went back over and over my novel to add more layers to it. In this series I’m writing about each of my ‘layers’ in the hope it will help someone who is starting out. This week we finish by looking at structure.

bamboo-scaffolding-01

Of course, structure is really the foundation of the novel, on which all of the other layers are built.  The reason I’ve only mentioned it now, at the end of my series, is because it has just jumped up and demanded my attention.

My first science fiction novel was finished, edited and polished. I sent it out to beta readers with instructions to mark wherever their reading was interrupted by a problem, and a list of questions to answer afterwards. Two of the things highlighted were structural problems.

One of my subplots was interfering with the main action, and there was a major problem with my ending that I didn’t know how to fix. When you live with a book for a long time, you get too close to see it objectively. I hadn’t even noticed the problems, it took my beta readers to see them.

Maybe that’s because I have grown the novel in these layers that I’m writing about. Maybe that’s because it wasn’t planned at all! The planning I’ve done has all been later on, trying to sort the novel out. (In case you’re wondering, I did work out how to fix the problems.)

There are lots of schemes for how to structure your novel. The favourite is the Three Act Structure, like a play. In Act One you put the start of the excitement and end with a major setback or crisis. In Act Two there are one or more setbacks. In Act Three the hero overcomes the final do-or-die crisis and the story is resolved.

Obviously, there’s more to it than that. For more help, you could try Randy Ingermanson’s Snowflake method, David Baboulene’s method, or Shanan Haislip’s 4D’s.

Without structure your novel will meander about, and will fail to grab readers so they keep reading. If you are a writer who writes ‘by the seat of their pants’ you still need structure in your novel, even if you work on it after the first draft, as I did.

Other posts in this series:
Introduction
Characters
Conflict
Subplots
Description
Feelings & Senses

About Ann Marie Thomas

Married since 1974, Christian since 1986, 4 children, 4 grand children, disabled with fibromyalgia but was working almost full time until a stroke in May 2010 changed my life completely. Writing poetry and making up stories since I was a child, I only started to write seriously when my children were grown. My main ambition is to write science fiction, but along the way I got distracted by local history and poetry about my stroke. Taking early retirement gave me the chance to concentrate on my writing. My book, Alina, The White Lady of Oystermouth, was published in print and ebook at Easter 2012. The success of Alina led to the publication of Broken Reed: The Lords of Gower and King John in September 2013, and The Magna Carta Story at Easter 2015. I am still writing science fiction - a series of novels called Flight of the Kestrel. For all my author news, see me author blog at www.annmariethomas.me.uk
This entry was posted in writing, Writing Wednesday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Writing Wednesday: Writing Layers–Structure

  1. Pingback: Writing Wednesday: Writing Layers – Feelings & Senses | Ann Marie Thinking Out Loud

  2. Pingback: Writing Wednesday: Writing Layers – Description | Ann Marie Thinking Out Loud

  3. Pingback: Writing Wednesday: Writing Layers – Subplots | Ann Marie Thinking Out Loud

  4. Pingback: Writing Wednesday: Writing Layers – Conflict | Ann Marie Thinking Out Loud

  5. Pingback: Writing Wednesday: Writing Layers – Characters | Ann Marie Thinking Out Loud

  6. Pingback: Writing Wednesday: Writing Layers | Ann Marie Thinking Out Loud

Leave a Reply

