Thinking Thursday: Dealing With Destiny

[Taken from Women’s Bible Study Conference (Wales) 2016, speaker Penny Curley]

Dealing with Destiny, knowing where we are going.

1501786_10153025020433573_7565378640017616620_n

Destiny is the inevitable succession of events. People say the only certainties in life are death and taxes.
…people are destined to die once, and after that to face judgment. (Hebrews 9:27)

Death is not our destination, it is just part of the way
Now if we have died with Christ, we believe that we will also live with him. (Romans 6:8)
…if Christ has not been raised, your faith is futile and you are still in your sins… But in fact Christ has been raised from the dead, the firstfruits of those who have fallen asleep.(1 Cor.15:17,20)

There is something more beyond.

In my Father’s house are many rooms. If it were not so, would I have told you that I go to prepare a place for you? And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again and will take you to myself, that where I am you may be also. (John 14:2-3)

For we know that if the tent that is our earthly home is destroyed, we have a building from God, a house not made with hands, eternal in the heavens. (2 Cor 5:1)

At the end of C S Lewis’ book The Last Battle the people think that the world is ending, Narnia is gone. But Aslan explains that now they will get to see the real Narnia.

No longer will there be anything accursed, but the throne of God and of the Lamb will be in it, and his servants will worship him. They will see his face, and his name will be on their foreheads. And night will be no more. They will need no light of lamp or sun, for the Lord God will be their light, and they will reign forever and ever. (Rev 22:3-5)

How should we face our destiny?

The Bible does not shy away from death. Woody Allen famously said, ‘I’m not afraid of death; I just don’t want to be there when it happens.’ Mark Ashton wrote a book called On My Way To Heaven which many people found very helpful in dealing with death.

Florence Chadwick was a long distance swimmer who tried to swim the fogbound Catalina Strait. She was defeated by the fog, and found after she gave up she was only half a mile from the coast. She later accomplished the swim by clearly visualising the coast even though she couldn’t see it.

Brothers, I do not consider that I have made it my own. But one thing I do: forgetting what lies behind and straining forward to what lies ahead, I press on toward the goal for the prize of the upward call of God in Christ Jesus. (Phil 3:13)

So teach us to number our days that we may get a heart of wisdom. (Psalm 90:12)

Final Thoughts
Dealing with Doubt – not a wall but a bridge
Dealing with Depression – not a curse but as a gift
Dealing with Destiny – not an end but a beginning

About Ann Marie Thomas

Married since 1974, Christian since 1986, 4 children, 4 grand children, disabled with fibromyalgia but was working almost full time until a stroke in May 2010 changed my life completely. Writing poetry and making up stories since I was a child, I only started to write seriously when my children were grown. My main ambition is to write science fiction, but along the way I got distracted by local history and poetry about my stroke. Taking early retirement gave me the chance to concentrate on my writing. My book, Alina, The White Lady of Oystermouth, was published in print and ebook at Easter 2012. The success of Alina led to the publication of Broken Reed: The Lords of Gower and King John in September 2013, and The Magna Carta Story at Easter 2015. I am still writing science fiction - a series of novels called Flight of the Kestrel. For all my author news, see me author blog at www.annmariethomas.me.uk
This entry was posted in faith, Thinking Thursday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

