Why Christianity Makes Sense (C S Lewis)

CSLewismural

1. Christianity as a ‘Big Picture’

It provides a way of looking at things in a coherent way.

“I believe in Christianity as I believe the sun has risen; not only do I see it, but by it I see everything else.”

1. It illuminates reality
2. It allows us to see what is otherwise in shadows
3. It brings things into focus – like a lens
4. It helps us to see things as they really are – truth seeker
5. It allows us to fit things in – helps us make sense of the world but goes beyond reason

2. The Argument from Desire

In each of us there is a deep desire for something out of this world.
He has also set eternity in the hearts of men. (Eccl 3:7)

“It would seem that Our Lord finds our desires not too strong, but too weak. We are half-hearted creatures, fooling about with drink and sex and ambition when infinite joy is offered us, like an ignorant child who wants to go on making mud pies in a slum because he cannot imagine what is meant by the offer of a holiday at the sea. We are far too easily pleased.”
C.S. Lewis, The Weight of Glory, and Other Addresses 1941

The world is full of beauty – these are signposts to God, not just containers. Like the scent of flowers in a garden at night – you know they are there but you can’t see them. So nature tells us that there is something more.

3. Lewis on Imagination & Stories

Christianity tells a story that makes sense of things and connects up with our own stories.
In The Lion the Witch and the Wardrobe children hear different stories about the true origin of Narnia, but gradually one story emerges as true.
Christian apologetics is about out-narrating the stories of the secular world.

4. Translation

Lewis believed we should use plain English to explain the deep truths.

“You must translate every bit of your theology into the vernacular.”
“We are here in the land of dreams. But cock-crow is coming.”

Your story is given depth and meaning by the great story, so you need to understand it.

[based on a lecture given by Alister McGrath, biographer of C S Lewis]

About Ann Marie Thomas

Married since 1974, Christian since 1986, 4 children, 4 grand children, disabled with fibromyalgia but was working almost full time until a stroke in May 2010 changed my life completely. Writing poetry and making up stories since I was a child, I only started to write seriously when my children were grown. My main ambition is to write science fiction, but along the way I got distracted by local history and poetry about my stroke. Taking early retirement gave me the chance to concentrate on my writing. My book, Alina, The White Lady of Oystermouth, was published in print and ebook at Easter 2012. The success of Alina led to the publication of Broken Reed: The Lords of Gower and King John in September 2013, and The Magna Carta Story at Easter 2015. I am still writing science fiction - a series of novels called Flight of the Kestrel. For all my author news, see me author blog at www.annmariethomas.me.uk
This entry was posted in faith, Thinking Thursday and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

