Lessons from Esther: Living Victoriously part 1

Our studies in Esther have brought us to the point where Esther is going to expose Haman and ask the King to spare her people. She has had to work hard and make some difficult decisions. We have to do the same if we are to win a spiritual victory.

The goal of our spiritual victory is life

Esther_Chapter_7-1_(Bible_Illustrations_by_Sweet_Media)Then Queen Esther answered, “If I have found favor in your sight, O king, and if it please the king, let my life be granted me for my wish, and my people for my request.” (Esther 7:3)

Esther knew only the King had the power over life and death. We have to realise where to find life and turn our attention there. Learn to identify the thieves and turn away from them. 

The thief comes only to steal and kill and destroy. I came that they may have life and have it abundantly. (John 10:10)

We need a spiritual victory because our enemy is sin

And Esther said, “A foe and enemy! This wicked Haman!” Then Haman was terrified before the king and the queen. (Esther 7:6)

The king was unaware who was his enemy – he thought Haman was his most trusted advisor. We need to know who our enemy is and how to fight it. The truth will set you free – but are you prepared to face the truth?

Therefore, just as sin came into the world through one man, and death through sin, and so death spread to all men because all sinned– (Romans 5:12)

We also need to lay aside the pleasures of sin and acknowledge the harm they are doing us. 

We find a spiritual victory when God’s wrath is dealt with

Esther_Chapter_7-5_(Bible_Illustrations_by_Sweet_Media)Then Harbona, one of the eunuchs in attendance on the king, said, “Moreover, the gallows that Haman has prepared for Mordecai, whose word saved the king, is standing at Haman’s house, fifty cubits high.” And the king said, “Hang him on that.” So they hanged Haman on the gallows that he had prepared for Mordecai. Then the wrath of the king abated. (Esther 7:9-10)

We find a spiritual victory when we realise how serious our sin is and know that nothing less than a death will pay the price. The necessity for a death is hard to accept. 

The God of our fathers raised Jesus, whom you killed by hanging him on a tree. God exalted him at his right hand as Leader and Savior, to give repentance to Israel and forgiveness of sins. (Acts 5:30-31)

That death could only be the death of God’s own Son, Jesus the King. Next week we will see what that death achieved, foreshadowed by what the King did for Esther.

Ann Marie Thomas head shot (80x90) (300dpi) Web GravatarAnn Marie Thomas is the author of three medieval history books, a surprisingly cheerful poetry collection about her 2010 stroke, and the science fiction series Flight of the Kestrel. Book one, Intruders, is out now. Find out more at www.annmariethomas.me.uk

About Ann Marie Thomas

Married since 1974, Christian since 1986, 4 children, 4 grand children, disabled with fibromyalgia but was working almost full time until a stroke in May 2010 changed my life completely. Writing poetry and making up stories since I was a child, I only started to write seriously when my children were grown. My main ambition is to write science fiction, but along the way I got distracted by local history and poetry about my stroke. Taking early retirement gave me the chance to concentrate on my writing. My book, Alina, The White Lady of Oystermouth, was published in print and ebook at Easter 2012. The success of Alina led to the publication of Broken Reed: The Lords of Gower and King John in September 2013, and The Magna Carta Story at Easter 2015. I am still writing science fiction - a series of novels called Flight of the Kestrel. For all my author news, see me author blog at www.annmariethomas.me.uk
This entry was posted in faith, Thinking Thursday and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

