Sanctified and Being Sanctified

In the book of Hebrews we find an apparent contradiction within four verses:

…we have been sanctified through the offering of the body of Jesus Christ once for all. (Heb.10:10)

For by a single offering he has perfected for all time those who are being sanctified. (Heb.10:14)

Sanctified and Being Sanctified

So we are sanctified and we are being sanctified. How can we be both? It’s not as hard to understand as it looks. It is done and we are growing in it. 

Being united with the perfect Christ makes us perfect in God’s sight. Now God is making us into what he has already declared us to be. For example: a man becomes a father because his child is born, but he is growing every day to be a better father. 

Each of us is dependent for our growth on other Christians. A single brick is of no use until it’s part of a building. Coming to church is not just about my needs but I must go to help and encourage others. I shouldn’t think only about what I can get out of church, but what I can give. We need to stir each other up to spirituality and good deeds. 

God has designed our sanctification as a community project. 

Take care, brothers, lest there be in any of you an evil, unbelieving heart, leading you to fall away from the living God. But exhort one another every day, as long as it is called “today,” that none of you may be hardened by the deceitfulness of sin. (Heb.3:12,13)

Discipleship Explored 2013

We need to watch out for each other and sympathise and encourage one another to better living. We can drift downstream towards the ocean of indifference, and it can be so slow we don’t notice. Others need to recognise the drift and rescue us.

Ann Marie Thomas head shot (80x90) (300dpi) Web GravatarAnn Marie Thomas is the author of three medieval history books, a surprisingly cheerful poetry collection about her 2010 stroke, and the science fiction series Flight of the Kestrel. Book one, Intruders, is out now. Find out more at www.annmariethomas.me.uk

About Ann Marie Thomas

Married since 1974, Christian since 1986, 4 children, 4 grand children, disabled with fibromyalgia but was working almost full time until a stroke in May 2010 changed my life completely. Writing poetry and making up stories since I was a child, I only started to write seriously when my children were grown. My main ambition is to write science fiction, but along the way I got distracted by local history and poetry about my stroke. Taking early retirement gave me the chance to concentrate on my writing. My book, Alina, The White Lady of Oystermouth, was published in print and ebook at Easter 2012. The success of Alina led to the publication of Broken Reed: The Lords of Gower and King John in September 2013, and The Magna Carta Story at Easter 2015. I am still writing science fiction - a series of novels called Flight of the Kestrel. For all my author news, see me author blog at www.annmariethomas.me.uk
This entry was posted in faith, Thinking Thursday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

