I Am Yours and You Are Mine

When lovers say this to each other, it’s a relationship of equals. A human being on either side, committing themselves to each other. Making promises, and finding comfort in each other’s commitment. 

I Am Yours and You Are Mine

When we say it to God in some of our Christian songs, it’s a whole different thing. It’s not a relationship of equals at all, and God doesn’t commit to us the same way we commit to him. 

We are weak and flawed. We make promises and fail to keep them. The only way we can be faithful is by submitting our life to him. How does that square with bringing God down to our level as a friend we can claim ‘he is mine’?

God said the same thing to Israel when he made them a people.
I will take you to be my people, and I will be your God, and you shall know that I am the LORD your God, who has brought you out from under the burdens of the Egyptians. (Exodus 6:7) 

This means God will be God but look on you with favour, and you will be people who worship God and live according to his laws. He has granted us permission to call him Father, with all that implies, but never forget that he is Almighty God. 

The same applies when we talk today about ‘My Jesus, my Saviour.’ I think sometimes there is far too much familiarity in the way we talk about, and to, Jesus. Yes, he is my Saviour, in that he saves us individually and we come to him on our own, no matter how many people help and encourage us. Yes, he died for me, for each of us, not a job lot. 

But he is the Wonderful Counsellor, Mighty God, Everlasting Father, Prince of Peace. (Isaiah 9:6). Our relationship with him is subservient, no matter how loving he is. We must never lose that awe, that reverence for who he is. 

Ann Marie Thomas head shot (80x90) (300dpi) Web GravatarAnn Marie Thomas is the author of three medieval history books, a surprisingly cheerful poetry collection about her 2010 stroke, and the science fiction series Flight of the Kestrel. Book one, Intruders, is out now. Find out more at www.annmariethomas.me.uk

About Ann Marie Thomas

Married since 1974, Christian since 1986, 4 children, 4 grand children, disabled with fibromyalgia but was working almost full time until a stroke in May 2010 changed my life completely. Writing poetry and making up stories since I was a child, I only started to write seriously when my children were grown. My main ambition is to write science fiction, but along the way I got distracted by local history and poetry about my stroke. Taking early retirement gave me the chance to concentrate on my writing. My book, Alina, The White Lady of Oystermouth, was published in print and ebook at Easter 2012. The success of Alina led to the publication of Broken Reed: The Lords of Gower and King John in September 2013, and The Magna Carta Story at Easter 2015. I am still writing science fiction - a series of novels called Flight of the Kestrel. For all my author news, see me author blog at www.annmariethomas.me.uk
This entry was posted in faith, Thinking Thursday and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

